Understanding How Chakras Work

The 7 Chakras are the energy centers in our body in which energy flows through. Blocked energy in our Chakras can often lead to illness so it’s important to understand what each Chakra represents and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely.


The 1st Chakra, the Root Chakra, represents our foundation and is all about feeling grounded and secure. Here’s the quick skinny on what you need to know about Root Chakra healing:

Location of our Root Chakra: Base of spine in tailbone area

What affects our Root Chakra: Survival issues, such as money and food

Color: Red

Healing Exercises: Stomping your bare feet on the ground. Remember, the Root Chakra is all about feeling “grounded.”  Practicing Kundalini Yoga can open up your lower spine. Bridge Pose is another good yoga pose.

Healing Foods: Red colored foods like apples and beets, hot spices like cayenne peppers and tabasco sauce, vegetables from the ground like potatoe and carrots, animal proteins like red meat and eggs


The 2nd Chakra, the Sacral Chakra, relates to our ability to feel creative, sexual, and accept change. Here’s what you need to know about Sacral Chakra healing:

Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.

Emotional issues affecting our Sacral Chakra: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.

Color: Orange

Healing Exercises: Pelvic Thrusts and Cobra Yoga Pose

Healing Foods:  Orange colored foods like oranges and tangerines, nuts


The 3rd Chakra, the Solar Plexus Chakra, represents our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. Here’s what you need to know about Solar Plexus Chakra healing:

Location of our Solar Plexus Chakra: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

What affects our Solar Plexus Chakra: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.

Color: Yellow

Healing Exercises: Kundalini Yoga: Boat Pose and dancing. Shake those hips!

Healing Foods: Yellow colored foods like corn, grains and fiber like granola and whole wheat bread, teas like peppermint and chamomile tea


The 4th Chakra, the Heart Chakra, represents our ability to love — the quality of our love, our past loves — and our future loves. Here’s what you need to know about Heart Chakra healing:

Location of our Heart Chakra: Center of chest just above heart

What affects our Heart Chakra: Love, joy, inner peace

Color: Green

Healing Exercises: Bikram Yoga, Love, Love and more Love; simply opening up our hearts to others is the best healing exercise to open up the heart chakra

Healing Foods: Green colored foods like leafy vegetables and spinach, green tea

throat_chakra__vishuddha__by_rebelbam-d6epyfrThe 5th Chakra, the Throat Chakra, represents our ability to communicate and express ourselves. Here’s what you need to know about Throat Chakra healing:

Location of our Throat Chakra: Throat

What affects our Throat Chakra: Communication, self-expression of feelings, speaking the truth, holding secrets

Color: Blue

Healing Exercises:  Shoulder stand, singing, chanting

Healing Foods: Juices and teas, all types of Fruitthird_eye_chakra___ajna_by_rebelbam-d6lxaryThe 6th Chakra (the Third Eye Chakra), is related to our ability to focus on and see the big picture. Here’s what you need to know about Third Eye Chakra healing:

Location of our Third Eye Chakra: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra)

Issues affecting our Third Eye Chakra: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions

Color: Indigo

Healing Excersises: Child’s Pose or other types of yoga poses with forward bends, Eye excercises, Herbal Oil Treatment

Healing Foods: Grapes, Blueberries, Chocolate, Lavender flavored spices or tea

crown_chakra___sahasrara___by_rebelbam-d7vu9hoThe 7th and highest Chakra, the Crown Chakra, represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. Here’s what you need to know about opening and healing the Crown Chakra:

The location of our Crown Chakra: The very top of our head

What affects our Crown Chakra: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss

Color: Violet

Healing Excercises: Meditation and Running or Cardio

Healing Foods: Since the Crown Chakra represents our spiritual connection to our surroundings, this Chakra does not benefit from healing foods. The Crown Chakra is more likely to benefit from breathing clean and fresh air and sunshine.

We have designed an aromatherapy potion for each Chakra, click each one to explore what they are all about:

As with any other learned skill, the art of chakra balancing for beginners can take some time to master.  Like any subtle energy method of healing, the user’s intention is critical. A pure healing intention is the most important key to making the healing work. The amount of time it takes to master the process should not be of any concern. The key issue is you do develop the requisite ability to properly balance the seven chakra so you can enjoy all the benefits they present. Doing so ensures a much healthier mind and body.

To find out what the state of your chakras is, do the chakra test.

We also highly recommend balancing with crystals.  Click below to learn how it all works:Everything_Soulful_Chakra_Pouch_buy_button